quarta-feira, 13 de julho de 2011

Frank Zappa - Broadway The Hard Way

Frank Zappa
Broadway The Hard Way
Progressive Rock Jazz Fusion Avantgarde


"Elvis Has Just Left the Building" – 2:24
"Planet of the Baritone Women" – 2:48
"Any Kind of Pain" – 5:42
"Dickie's Such an Asshole" – 5:45
"When the Lie's So Big" – 3:38
"Rhymin' Man" – 3:50
"Promiscuous" – 2:02
"The Untouchables" (Riddle) – 2:26
"Why Don't You Like Me?" – 2:57
"Bacon Fat" (Andre Williams, Dorothy Brown, Zappa) – 1:29
"Stolen Moments" (Oliver Nelson) – 2:57
"Murder by Numbers" (Sting, Andy Summers) – 5:37
"Jezebel Boy" – 2:27
"Outside Now" – 7:49
"Hot Plate Heaven at the Green Hotel" – 6:40
"What Kind of Girl?" – 3:17
"Jesus Thinks You're a Jerk" – 9:15

     Broadway the Hard Way is a Frank Zappa live album recorded at various performances along his 1988 world tour. It was first released as a 9-track vinyl through Zappa's mail order label Barking Pumpkin in October 1988, and subsequently as a 17-track CD through Rykodisc in 1989.
     This album was compiled from Zappa's last tour in 1988, in a band format. Broadway is mostly focused on acute satire of contemporary figures, both political and social. Throughout the album Zappa's individual targets include Richard Nixon and Ronald Reagan on "Dickie's Such An Asshole", Jesse Jackson on "Rhymin' Man", Jim and Tammy Faye Bakker and Pat Robertson on "Jesus Thinks You're A Jerk", and Michael Jackson and his family on "Why Don't You Like Me?"
     The album contains a relatively large number of covers, from the jazz standard "Stolen Moments" to the The Police song "Murder by Numbers" (with a guest appearance by Sting himself). "Outside Now" is from Joe's Garage, and "Why Don't You Like Me" can be easily recognized as a remake of Zappa's "Tell Me You Love Me". "Rhymin' Man" is filled with melodic quotes from evergreens such as "Happy Days Are Here Again", "Hava Nagila", "La Cucaracha" and "Frère Jacques". In "What Kind of Girl" there is a line from "Strawberry Fields Forever" and also includes a part from the "Battle Hymn of the Republic" while "Jesus Thinks You're a Jerk" quotes "Louie Louie", "Rock of Ages" and Marius Constant's Theme from "The Twilight Zone".


Frank Zappa – guitar, producer, main performer, vocals
Kurt McGettrick – baritone saxophone
Scott Thunes – bass guitar
Albert Wing – tenor saxophone
Ed Mann – percussion
Chad Wackerman – drums
Ike Willis – guitar, vocals
Eric Buxton – vocals
Paul Carman – alto saxophone
Walt Fowler – trumpet
Mike Keneally – synthesizer, vocals, guitar
Sting – lead vocal on "Murder By Numbers"
Bruce Fowler – trombone

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário