quarta-feira, 18 de maio de 2011

Pia Zadora - When The Lights Go Out

Pia Zadora
When The Lights Go Out
Pop Funk


1 I Don't Wanna Love
2 Still Remembered
3 Dance Out Of My Head
4 Laughin' At You
5 When The Lights Go Out
6 Pia's Interlude
7 I Really Like You (Not Him)
8 Silence
9 Since I've Been Lovin' You
10 Pia's Theme
11 It's Always The Same

     Pia Zadora (born May 4, 1954) is an American actress and singer. After working as a child actress on Broadway, in regional theater, and in the film Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (1964), she came to national attention in 1981 when, following her starring role in the highly criticized  Butterfly, she won a Golden Globe Award as New Star of the Year.
     When her film career failed to take off, she became a singer of popular standards and made several successful albums backed by a symphonic orchestra; as a singer she earned a measure of respect from critics who had previously written her off as an actress.
     She attained success in Europe as a singer, and had several hit singles throughout the world. In 1984, she received a nomination for a Grammy Award for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance for the song "Rock It Out". Her cover of the Shirley Ellis hit "The Clapping Song", reached the U.S. Top 40 in 1983, and she had a hit duet with Jermaine Jackson titled "When the Rain Begins to Fall" in 1984 from the movie Voyage of the Rock Aliens. A minor hit in the US, the song reached #1 in some European countries. She released Pia & Phil, an album of standards with the London Philharmonic Orchestra in 1985, and recorded a follow up entitled I Am What I Am shortly after.
     In 1988, she worked with producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis on an album entitled When the Lights Go Out. The single "Dance Out of My Head" wasn't a hit despite the top producers and club remixes by Shep Pettibone and Ben Liebrand. The album was only released in Europe.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário