terça-feira, 21 de junho de 2011

The Lover Speaks - The Lover Speaks

The Lover Speaks
The Lover Speaks
New Wave


01 Every Lover's Sign
02 No More "I Love You's"
03 Never To Forget You
04 Face Me And Smile
05 Absent One
06 Love Is: "I Gave You Everything"
07 "This Can't Go On!"
08 Still Faking This Art Of Love
09 Tremble Dancing  
10 Of Tears

     The Lover Speaks was the new wave duo of David Freeman (vocals), and Joseph Hughes (arranger, composer). They sang the original version of the song "No More "I Love You's"", covered by Annie Lennox in 1995 on her Medusa album, taking it to #2 on the UK Singles Chart.
     Freeman and Hughes formed The Lover Speaks (deriving the name from Roland Barthes' book A Lover's Discourse: Fragments in 1985, after working together in the punk outfit the Flys. Dave Stewart of the Eurythmics got the duo a recording contract with A&M Records and their self-titled debut including contributions from among others Stewart, June Miles-Kingston, Nils Lofgren and production by Jimmy Iovine was released the following year. Freeman's vocals received praise, but the album never took off. "No More "I Love You's"", the first single, fell off the UK chart after rising to #58. The band opened for the Eurythmics during the 1986 Revenge world tour and the following year Freeman and Hughes wrote and produced the duet "Sleep Like Breathing" with Alison Moyet, included on her album Raindancing.
     They returned to the studio in 1994 and recorded another album, The Big Lie with Iovine, Stewart and Daniel Lanois sharing production - only to face A&M Records who declined to release it. The duo then split; Freeman went on to release a few solo albums in the 2000s.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário