quarta-feira, 29 de junho de 2011

Xmal Deutschland - Incubus Succubus 12'' / Incubus Succubus II 12'' / Qual 12'' / Schwarze Welt 7''

Xmal Deutschland
Incubus Succubus 12''
Gothic Rock


01. Incubus Succubus
02. Zu Jung Zu Alt
03. Blut Ist Liebe

Xmal Deutschland
Incubus Succubus II 12''
Gothic Rock


01. Incubus Succubus II
02 . Vito

Xmal Deutschland
Qual 12''
Gothic Rock


01. Qual
02. Zeit
03. Sehnsucht

Xmal Deutschland
Schwarze Welt - 7''
Gothic Rock


01. Schwarze Welt
02. Die Wolken

     Xmal Deutschland (pronounced: iks-mul doychlunt) was a musical group from Hamburg, Germany. Founded in 1980 with a completely female line-up, they became successful outside their native country. The lead singer of the band is vocalist Anja Huwe. Xmal Deutschland's last album was released in 1989.
     Xmal Deutschland (often written as X-Mal Deutschland) was formed in 1980 by Anja Huwe (vocals), Manuela Rickers (guitar), Fiona Sangster (keyboards), Rita Simon (bass guitar) and Caro May (drums) in Hamburg, Germany. Their first single, "Großstadtindianer" was released a year later on Alfred Hilsberg’s ZickZack label. The band also contributed the to the label compilation Lieber Zuviel Als Zuwenig (ZZ 45). Around this time Rita Simon was replaced by Wolfgang Ellerbrock.
     In 1982 the band released the Goth classic "Incubus Succubus". Drummer Caro May left the band and formed a new band, and the vacant drummer position was filled by Manuela Zwingmann the same year. While German audiences were less than receptive at first, a United Kingdom tour opening for the Cocteau Twins resulted in a label deal with independent label 4AD Records. Their debut album, Fetisch and the singles "Qual" and "Incubus Succubus II" were released in 1983, all 3 making the UK Independent charts, even though the band wrote and performed in German.
     Manuela Zwingmann left the band after one year, being replaced by Peter Bellendir. This lineup, Huwe/Rickers/Sangster/Ellerbrock/Bellendir proved to be the longest running. 1984 saw the release of the single "Reigen" and the album Tocsin, followed by a world tour through 1985.
     The Sequenz EP was essentially a remake of a John Peel session, which had been originally recorded April 30, 1985, and was broadcast May 13, 1985. The EP contained the tracks Jahr Um Jahr II, Autumn (the band’s first English lyrics, apart from brief snatches of English that appeared in Qual, Young Man and Tag für Tag) and Polarlicht but omitted Der Wind, which was played at the Peel sessions.
     1986 saw the release of Matador, produced by Hugh Cornwell of The Stranglers. Xmal Deutschland also opened for The Stranglers at a concert at Wembley Arena in London. Their follow-up album, Viva was recorded in Hamburg and was released in 1987, followed by the single "Sickle Moon". Viva contains a large number of English lyrics, among others a poem by Emily Dickinson. It was during this time that the band were interviewed by Jamie Meakes for the infamous underground Goth Fanzine 'House Of Dolls'.
     After the release of Viva, Manuela Rickers, Fiona Sangster and Peter Bellendir left the group. Anja Huwe and Wolfgang Ellerbrock continue to work with Frank Z. (Abwärts) on guitar. Producer Henry Staroste played keyboards, and German studio drummer Curt Cress completed the line-up that would record the 1989 LP Devils and the singles "Dreamhouse" and "I’ll be near you". This also proved to be the last release of Xmal Deutschland, showing a change of direction towards mainstream pop. 1990 saw a few scattered live appearances by the group, but eventually the group split up.


     EPs and singles:
1981 7" Großstadtindianer
1982 12" Incubus Succubus
1983 12" Qual
1983 7" Incubus Succubus II
1983 12" Incubus Succubus II
1985 7" Sequenz
1985 12" Sequenz
1986 12"/CD The Peel Sessions (30.04.85)
1986 7" Matador
1986 12" Matador
1987 7" Sickle Moon
1987 12" Sickle Moon
1989 12" Dreamhouse
1989 12" I'll be near you
1983 Fetisch
1984 Tocsin
1987 Viva
1989 Devils

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário